The Marjorie Lozoff Prize

Marjorie Lozoff

The Marjorie Lozoff Prize promotes scholarship in areas that further women's development.

Students are nominated for the prize by affiliated Clayman Institute faculty and may be nominated for dissertation research or independent projects with the intent of publishing an article or presenting on the topic at a research conference.  Stanford graduate students are nominated from a variety of disciplines. 

This prize of $4000 honors the memory of Marjorie Morse Lozoff. In an extraordinarily productive life as wife, mother, sociologist, social worker, teacher, researcher, and community leader, Marjorie Lozoff served as a model for the idea that most deeply absorbed her: furthering women's development for the benefit of women, men, children, and society.  In 2002 the Lozoff family—Dr. Milton Lozoff, and his daughters and their families—established an annual prize in memory of Marjorie.

The Marjorie Lozoff Award for Research on Women and Gender is given to a graduate student conducting research on issues related to Lozoff’s interests, including but not limited to, reproductive rights for women, equal rights for women, and protections for women, aging, and the family, with preference for research in the social sciences and the professions such as medicine and law.

Lozoff Prize Winners

2023 Recipient: Alex Chan

Alex Chan (Dept. of Public Health), awarded for his investigation of the extent of gender and racial bias in patients’ selection of doctors.

2022 Recipient: Ruby E. Reed

Ruby E. “Lillie” Reed (medicine and epidemiology), awarded for her work in qualitative perspectives on COVID-19, interpersonal violence, and interventions to improve well-being from adolescent girls and young women from Kisumu, Kenya. 

2021 Recipient: Justine Modica

Justine Modica (History), awarded for her work examining how non-governmental organizations and government agencies shaped segments of the childcare workforce, including both home- and center-based providers.

2020 Recipient: Tanya LaMar

Tanya LaMar (Education), awarded for her work on uncovering who has access to the field of data science, who takes on roles as data scientists and data science leaders and in what ways girls and women should be recruited, included, and valued in these spaces so they can thrive.

2019 Recipient: Shadab Hussein

Shadab Hussain (Education), awarded for her work on a project aimed at better understanding faculty diversity, particularly by gender, in schools of medicine in the U.S. and how current institutional and federal policies impact retention of women faculty in the academic pipeline.

2018 Recipient: Rina Friedberg

Rina Friedberg (Statistics), awarded for her research contributions to interventions developed to lower rates of gender-based violence in developing societies.

2017 Recipient: Amee Azad

Amee Azad (Stanford School of Medicine), awarded for her study about the reasons for gender disparities in low income countries in receipt of surgical care. 

2016 Recipient: Tina Cheuk

Tina Cheuk (Graduate School of Education), awarded for her research on the mechanisms that create gendered inequalities within higher educational institutions, generating solutions to improve the organizational norms and structures.

2015 Recipient: Swethaa Ballakrishnen

Swethaa Ballakrishnen (Sociology), awarded for her research on organizational innovation, social stratification and the influence of gloablization in emerging markets.

2014 Recipient: Devon Magliozzi

Devon Magliozzi (Sociology), awarded for her study on how the social lives of men and women are shaped by their perceived risk of victimization, and how the self-defense strategies that individuals practice reflect and produce beliefs about feminine vulnerability and masculine dominance. 

2013 Recipient: Susan Fisk

Susan Fisk (Sociology), awarded for her research on how gender stereotypes influence how women and men perceive risk, perform in risky situations, and how others react to their failure at a risky task.

2012 Recipient: Adrienne Johnson

Adrienne Johnson (Modern Thought and Literature), awarded for her work on American popular culture with a particular attention to the body, labor, and the landscape.

2011 Recipient: Scott Spillman

Scott Spillman (History), awarded for his work on American intellectual history, with particular interests in education, liberalism, and slavery.

2010 Recipients: Rikhil Bhavani and Hilary Chart

Rikhil Bhavani for his essay "Do Electoral Quotas Work after They are Withdrawn? Evidence from a Natural Experiment in India."

Hilary Chart for her essay "Child Care and Commodification of 'Women's Work' in Botswana; New Perspectives on Three Critiques of Capitalism."

2009 Recipient: Erica Lorraine Williams

Erica Lorraine Williams for her essay "Mulata tipo Exportacao: Race and Gender in the Sexual Economies of Tourism in Salvador."

2008 Recipients: Benedetta Faedi and Tiffany Romain

Benedetta Faedi for her essay "From Violence Against Women to Women's Violence in Haiti."

Tiffany Romain for her essay "The Futures Markets of Eggs: Commodifying Time and Hope."

2007 Recipient: Brooke Ricalde

Brooke Ricalde for her essay "Women-Owned Small Businesses in the United States: A Growing Trend Reviewed in Historical Context."

2006 Recipients: David Siddhartha Patel and Sarah Richardson

David Siddhartha Patel for his essay "Concealing to Reveal: The Changing Informational Role of Islamic Dress."

Sarah Richardson for her essay "Feminist Contributions to Genetic Models of Sex Determination."

2005 Recipient: Sapna Cheryan

Sapna Cheryan for her essay "The Social Representation of Computer Scientists: A Barrier to Inclusion for Women."

2004 Recipient: Jennifer Chertow

Jennifer Chertow for her essay "Gender, Medicine, and Modernity: Childbirth in Tibet Today

2003 Recipient: Amalia Miller

Amalia Miller for her essay "Can Certified Nurse-Midwifery Change the Face of Maternity Care?"